About the Museum

Red House Stables Working Carriage Museum has one of the finest collections of original horse drawn vehicles and equipment in Britain. Established in 1946, this unique collection of vehicles and accessories was started by Mr. William Smith who was very particular about the authenticity and impeccable condition of each carriage. This tradition is now continued by his daughter Caroline Dale-Leech, who has spent her life with horses and driving, learning from her Grandfather as well as her father.





Search Box



Related Links





Red House Stables and Carriage Museum 2018 Event Schedule
DateEvent
 No events at the moment.

Get in touch

Use the information below to get in touch with the museum before setting off.


Red House Stables and Carriage Museum Office

  • Address: Old Rd, Darley Dale, Matlock
  • Postcode: DE4 2ER
  • Phone: 01629 733583
  • URL: www.redhousestables.co.uk

Business Hours

  • Open every day at 10am

MORE AROUND
Red House Stables and Carriage Museum

Within a radius (as the crow flies) of 12 miles:


MORE AROUND DE4

DE22   DE3   DE45   DE5   DE56   DE6   ST14  

December's Historic Midlands

The Hawes Junction rail crash happened on the 24th of December in 1910, between Hawes Junction and Aisgill on the Midland Railways Settle and Carlisle main line in Westmorland. Twelve people died on this incident, some of whom were burned to death..Archive WWW.MIDLANDSAUTOJUMBLE.CO.UK

Sponsors